Cost of acquisition per new customer is obviously higher than cost of retention per existing one. This statement is true not only for managed service providers (MSPs), but almost for any IT-related business.A managed service provider should first of all concentrate on the recurring revenue that the customers bring. However, if high costs associated with customer acquisition don’t pay off, you may experience difficulty maintaining the stable MRR.In this article, we’re going to review several tactics that you may implement into your customer acquisition strategy in order to lower your expenses. But before consider buying new clients, let’s define the basic formula to calculate customer acquisition cost. This will allow us to understand how much we currently pay for the acquisition.The expenses may include the following items:The result will show how much you pay for every new client.Another useful index closely related to CAC is:This number shows how many months should pass before the costs to acquire new clients will be profitable. Make sure that the number is between 6 and 12. If your clients are not paid off in a year, it is an indication for you to change your customer acquisition strategy.Let’s take a look at specific numbers and calculate how much money new clients should generate in order for the enterprise to be profitable.For example, during a year you’ve spent $1,000 to acquire 10 new clients. Then your CAC will be equal to $100 and each of these clients should give you the profit of at least $100/12 = $8.30 per month.
Alexander Negrash is director of marketing at CloudBerry Lab. Read more CloudBerryLab blogs here.
Calculating Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)
Here’s the cost per acquisition formula for CAC calculation:- CAC = (all your expenses to acquiring new clients) / (number of new clients)
- Salaries of your marketing and sales team
- Overhead
- Bonuses and commissions
- Advertising budget (CPC, PPC, SEO, content, email marketing, the lot)
- (monthly expenses to acquiring new clients) / (monthly revenue)




